top of page
Search

Review and Reflection with the final work

BALANCE - the final work

Recommend to wear a headphone for a better experience.


After the entire video completed, I could feel there are some disadvantages of the final effects, like a space for presenting the video may be a better choice, but I still feel some comfort at the end because of the process of exploring the noise. It transformed the suffered me to a person acceptable and general to my life, and finding the interesting stuff of the flat. I may answer the question of how transmedia guide me to tell a story or how I feel, in the reflection.


In the beginning, I fall in love with the mysterial dark ambient sound, planning to create a more musical work combined with a 'cool' visual effect, which can be a visual enjoy on experience the special sound type to me and the audience I think. Especially, what I record is a contrasting track of the exhibition noise and the quiet artwork sound, they have some similarity to some extent. The Dark Ambient, a stranger to me, has a heavy expression when I listen to the artist work, including an intensive emotion of resist I feel, a crazy to the industry but hard to define it is crazy of love or hate. At the time, a repressive emotion lived in my heart, a strong eager to resist and change something appeared. And some elements of the film 'Tenet' inspired me on the sound design as it used many reverse effects, which is kind like a magic point between the regular and the mess.


Not long, the isolation came as the serious pandemic, the emotion gradually directed me to express the emotion under the current situation. It even stronger when I realized that there were many people who are suffering a closed feeling as did I. I found that I may have a chance to express some through the media content. This the first time I realized that what I can do with transmedia.

According to Henry Jenkins, a “transmedia world” is an “immersive” experience presented “across multiple delivery platforms”. For Jenkins, transmedia means “across media”. - from the guide book of Transmedia

As I thought, the expression should be an immersive experience to the audience. With doing a sound recording, the separating process of the noise is a beautiful journey for me to understand the noise. In this case, the audio or sound visualization, a method of viewing the sound, naturally came my head. More importantly, I familiar with the effect as I tried in another project. Soon, I got an achievement of making a visualized sound in a perfect effect. But I have to mention, the effect can be considered more to enhance the visual elements.


At the point, some elements of traditional Chinese culture, including Tai Chi, Yin Yang, and "Blank" in Chinese painting, passed through my mind. At the early stage of the idea, I struggle with the visual content expression, because what I want to express is a complex emotion in a simple experience, which need to be a self strain of the visual design. It means a balance control in case of the disharmony in the combination of visual and acoustic, specifically, I want to provide an immersive or empathy experience. As a result, the Black & White became my first choice of the colour theme when the sharp material design style settle. It can suitably emerge the 'BALANCE' in it I think.


In the end, a widescreen ratio was set for a real sight angle experience. I used 3940x1080 for the piece, which it provides double sight on width compared the normal video, which I can present the synchronous visual and sound experience at the same time. It should work well on a projector, but a less immersive on a normal 16:9 monitor, which is a pity of mine.


When I was reflecting the process, I found that I was cured by the process of discovery and explore the noise and sound. I feel peace, comfort when I watch the moving image again and again. And I appreciate that the 'BALANCE' set as the title of my project. And I can give an answer, the crossing media, the transmedia provide a cohesive visual and acoustic experience that presents a story in multi-dimensions, that every part of it is indispensable in the communication between the creator and the audience. This complex but comprehensive experience, which only provided in transmedia, is important in both the creative process and the experience side.


8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page